An Evaluation

As an athlete, goal setting has played a major role in my mental and physical preparation for rugby. Taking the time and effort to evaluate how you hope to develop yourself is a key part of anyone’s pursuit of success. Without a vision of where you want to be and what you want to do, how can you get there? During recent research into entrepreneurship, one text recommended looking toward the future, seeing yourself giving a presentation of your successes and failures, passing along what you’ve learned through your achievements. What specifically do you hope to include in your list of achievements? What failures do you foresee? What advice will you carry with you from now to then? This text helped to guide me in the direction of self-evaluation within a professional mindset, not an athletic one. Surprisingly, this is not something I had thought to do for myself until now.

  1. What do I hope to have in my list of future achievements?

– Had poetry/short stories published in several major publications

– Working on/finished at least one book (collection of poetry/fiction novel/memoir)

– Started a successful business that serves writing services of any kind

– Works regularly with hundreds of clients of all ages and writing abilities

  1. What failures/hardships do I foresee?

– Having little to no money while starting a business

– Little experience in business before starting it

– Finding constant inspiration for writing

– Recognizing opportunities that will grow the business before they are necessary

– Finding a regular group of clients

  1. Advice that I will carry with me into the future.

– Researching every aspect of the business prior to getting started

– Keep the passion for writing throughout the business and future employees

– Anticipate difficulties like accidents, weather-driven disasters, recessions etc. into your budget. This will make it easier later, and may allow you to avoid failure of the business.

– Make sure that your values are intertwined with your business. For me, those values include creativity, passion, hard work, acceptance and fun.

This list includes the entirety of my career goals, and I hope to achieve them in the next 3-5 years. It’s odd, yet a utter relief to see them displayed so simply. In continuing to be a big proprietor of goal-setting, I am happy to include my professional life in those goals. I aim to take my pulse regularly (reported here) of my professional goals, my athletic goals, and my leisure goals (such as books I’d like to read, shows I can’t wait to see, habits to create/break, DIY projects, etc.).

Oftentimes, I have an expanse of energy and interest, but find it hard to channel this into one area. This is a very nice way of saying I get side-tracked easily. Hopefully keeping continuous records of my goals, as well as my progress towards those goals, will give me a realistic vision of where I am. Goal setting can also help to bring positivity to times when I may be in a lull or things aren’t going my way. In the meantime, I’m excited to be challenging myself with these goals! Have any helpful tips or advice for me (on any aspect I listed above)? Let me know!

P.S. Our host’s Internet stopped working early Monday morning, and we’ve been without it since. In the meantime, I am catching up on my #500WordsEveryDay, and finding places with free wifi, so you’ll be seeing more from me soon!

Leave a Reply

